Skip to content

Rathika Ramasamy

August 11, 2013
Rathika Ramasamy

Rathika Ramasamy

Wow!

That’s going to be the expression you are going to have when you look into this weeks Wildlife photographer’s photos.

Rathika Ramasamy is a very well known wildlife photographer who probably is the first women photographer in India who has been venturing into the wild to capture and share its beauty.

With an amazing sense of timing she captures some of the most amazing moments from wildlife.  Apart from doing wildlife photography she also conducts workshops on wildlife photography.

This week we have interviewed her to know a bit more about herself and her experience as a wildlife photographer.

What is it like to be the first woman wildlife photographer of India?

To be frank, the thought about wildlife photography being male dominated never crossed my mind initially. It is only later that I found that I was the first woman to venture into this field.  I am happy if I have inspired other women to take interest in this field.

Great Cormorant

Being a woman have you ever been restricted from doing things that you want to do? 

I haven’t really faced any difficulties as a woman. Wildlife photography is a tough job for any person.  There are to be bound to be some practical problems, but those would be the same whether you are a woman or man.   If we have a will, then we can definitely overcome them.

Eurasian Collared Dove

How did you get interested in wildlife and photography?

Photography was always a favorite hobby of mine.  I started wildlife photography around 2003.  Once when I visited Bharatpur Bird Sanctuary, after seeing the birds, I wanted to capture images of the birds so that I could enjoy seeing those again.   Soon after that, I bought a big lens for wildlife photography. New Delhi, where I live, is surrounded by many bird sanctuaries and national parks, and is the main route for migratory birds.  This gave me plenty of opportunities to shoot birds, and I started to specialize in bird photography.

Asian elephants

Which was the most adventurous trip you had?

My trip to Jim Corbett National Park in 2005 was the most adventures trip.  I had awesome sightings of wildlife and a hair raising elephant charging experience.

Blackbuck (Antilope cervicapra)

Which is your favorite photo from your collection?

I have many favorite shots.  One of my favorite photographs is of a pair of Sarus Cranes dancing, which I took at Keoladeo Ghana National Park.

Sarus crane dance

Which is your favorite place for wildlife watching/photography?

In India, my favorite shooting location is Keoladeo Ghana National Park, Bharatpur, Rajasthan. Besides Bharatpur, I like to shoot in Jim Corbett National Park in Uttarakhand, which is the oldest national park in India.

Teliya cubs

How does your family support you in your activities?

I am fortunate enough to have a very supportive family, and I could pursue my passion because of them.  They are happy that I am doing something that I really enjoy.

Indian Peafowl(Pavo cristatus)

What are your future plans?

I have been shooting in the North, South and East.   I am now planning to explore Western India including Rann of Kutch and Desert National Park.

The Fight

What is the advice for the new generation who wish to be in wildlife photography?

Wildlife photography is challenging but rewarding.  If you love wildlife, it is very satisfying work. Being a naturalist having good in depth knowledge of the subject – mammals, birds, their habitat and behavior patterns helps.  If you have patience, and perseverance, you will be rewarded with memorable images.

Rathika Ramasamy

All images in this blog are used with permission from Rathika Ramasamy. If you want to learn more about her photography please visit her facebook page Rathika Ramasamy Photography or visit her website Rathika Ramasamy’s Wildlife Photography

From → Interview

9 Comments
  1. Stephen Azarah permalink

    Awesome. Hope to see more photos of her.

  2. awesome shots mam. your shots are really amazing

  3. A.K.Sircar permalink

    Excellent shot!

  4. delphi dinnoo permalink

    one of the best,always thumbs up….

  5. Ijash permalink

    All the best in your future projects…

  6. vedant raut permalink

    It was a treat to go through every single snap..
    thank u

  7. Steve Tom permalink

    People have a generic thinking. They feel wildlife means cats. You are a perfect example on what a wildlife photographer is… Congrats

  8. Sushmita Rahul permalink

    Being a women and travelling in the wild requires a lot guts. Congrats ma’am. Beautiful photos.

  9. PAUL DEVANESAN permalink

    Mam your are simply amazing. Would love tgo attend your classes on wildlife photography..

Leave a comment